Technical Discussion
  >> Voice over IP (VoIP) Forum

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User colinhorstmann
(newbie) Thu 15-Oct-15 09:23:20
Print Post

VoIP - complete newbie

[link to this post]

I'm a complete newbie regarding VoIP and looking for details of how to set up/use VoIP. Currently I have a sub 1Mbps "broadband" service (long line to cabinet) but expect to have at least 10Mbps within 3 months. At that point I want to get rid of my BT line completely (the new service would be wireless) hence the idea of VoIP. However, I have a couple of questions I'd like answered if possible so I know what's possible before the new broadband service arrives. Also, being a newbie, apart from VoIP and SIP, most of the acronyms relating to VoIP are unfamiliar to me so please add translation when you use them (so that I can learn!).

First, a little bit about my setup - basically it's a farm with outlying farm buildings most of which are LAN connected via non-managed switches - the LAN is primarily used for some 30 IP cameras. Also, I'd have no problem leaving a PC on 24/7 if necessary to provide for any VoIP server I might need. In the farmhouse I have 4 DECT phones connecting to a single base station and numerous standard spare POTS phones.

The questions:
1. Looking at (for example) Voipfone they offer the Linksys 3012 VoIP adapter which I assume would do for connecting the DECT base station. However, this is American hardware so would I need additional cabling to connect the base station to it?