General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.


Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Waynester
(regular) Thu 24-Dec-09 17:00:16
Print Post

Vivaciti Broadband - Virus on their website! WHAT !!!!!!


[link to this post]
Guys and Gals

just went live today with MURPHX package through Vivaciti

everytime i use any browser and go to google, including Google Chrome, Firefox or IE8, if you type Vivaciti in to any of em and then click on the 1st result that comes up, you automatically get transferred to a FAKE website tellin you your PC has a virus, i just wiped my 2 damn computers last week as my virus killers and spyware found the trojan browser hijacker, but they NEVER delete it!
there is no way after i done a fresh install of my operating system that this virus could still be there

anyone know whats going on?

it doesnt matter if you use Google search engine or Ask Jeeves etc etc etc
it still directs you to this trojan virus site

how am i meant to look up my account with Vivaciti if i cant log on?

no good phoning them now as its christmas, lol

Aaarrrgghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Edited by Waynester (Thu 24-Dec-09 17:01:45)

Standard User ian007jen
(regular) Thu 24-Dec-09 17:18:20
Print Post

Re: Vivaciti Broadband - Virus on their website! WHAT !!!!!


[re: Waynester] [link to this post]
try this link it is OK for Me
Merry Christmas

Ian
Standard User aramsay
(learned) Thu 24-Dec-09 17:21:48
Print Post

Re: Vivaciti Broadband - Virus on their website! WHAT !!!!!


[re: Waynester] [link to this post]
I can confirm this happens - I've just tried it.

going to http://www.vivaciti.net directly seems to be OK, but as you say, when asking google for 'Vivaciti' - it says that the link is to http://www.vivaciti.net, but does infact take you to:

http://****REMOVE***megascannerw.com/scn1/?engine=%3DnQx0DTuMTU1LjMxLjIzNCZwaWQ9Mzg0JnRpbWU9MTI2MTYxNc0OaA%3DM

(NB: I've added ****REMOVE**** to ensure that nobody clicks on that link,

It downloads a file to your PC (or in my case Mac) called pack_384.exe - luckily my Mac won't run exe's, but it does look like someone's managed to do something nasty to any connections to the website coming from Google.

This is from a BT Broadband connection, so it's not related to you being on MURPHX.

Alan


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Anonymous
(Unregistered)Thu 24-Dec-09 17:26:53
Print Post

Re: Vivaciti Broadband - Virus on their website! WHAT !!!!!


[re: aramsay] [link to this post]
Thats it mate!!!

i knew i wasnt going mad!!

i get the exact megascannerw thingy

can ANYONE confirm that my damn PC is infected with a virus, just ran Bit Defender and Spysweeper programs, and found something called FAKEALERT.GEN
deleted it now,

if i got another virus, i`m gonna go APE!
i didn't install the exe file thank god
Standard User xilonet
(experienced) Thu 24-Dec-09 17:45:26
Print Post

Re: Vivaciti Broadband - Virus on their website! WHAT !!!!!


[re: Waynester] [link to this post]
An attack like this is generally via .htaccess. If the referrer is a search engine, it will try and offload some spyware on to your machine. However, if you go direct to the page with no/different referrer - no spyware is loaded.

Matt

-
xilodsl.net
t: 0800 848 8468
Official Maidenhead & Milton Keynes Speedtest.net Host
CPW LLU Pre-registration | Our current offers
Anonymous
(Unregistered)Thu 24-Dec-09 17:50:02
Print Post

Re: Vivaciti Broadband - Virus on their website! WHAT !!!!!


[re: xilonet] [link to this post]
Thanks Matt, so is this Virus type thingy permanent now?
will it be on my system somewhere?
or will i have to wipe my damn pc again

why haven't Vivaciti sorted this problem out? its outrageous
Standard User RobertoS
(legend) Thu 24-Dec-09 17:53:07
Print Post

Re: Vivaciti Broadband - Virus on their website! WHAT !!!!!


[re: Anonymous] [link to this post]
Strange - see this post and vivaciti's response.

Bob's broadband help site:
www.robertos.me.uk
ISP history: Demon dialup >> Freeserve dialup >> BT Broadband >> Prodigynet >> Newnet >> O2 Standard.
Purple Cloud for domain, email and web space.
Standard User xilonet
(experienced) Thu 24-Dec-09 17:55:25
Print Post

Re: Vivaciti Broadband - Virus on their website! WHAT !!!!!


[re: Anonymous] [link to this post]
When we've seen a similar 'hack' on some of sites we host for customers, the infected machines (i.e yours) can normally be cleaned with the standard tools..

Spybot
Ad-aware
(and a good virus scanner).

Matt

-
xilodsl.net
t: 0800 848 8468
Official Maidenhead & Milton Keynes Speedtest.net Host
CPW LLU Pre-registration | Our current offers
Standard User ggremlin
(newbie) Thu 24-Dec-09 17:56:47
Print Post

Re: Vivaciti Broadband - link via google.


[re: Anonymous] [link to this post]
from a bt account
the google search links to
**tp://santa-christmas2010.com/?pid=**4&sid=**797c**

but that gives a blank page, (ie8, win7)
bing does the same.

going direct to www.vivaciti.net does work properly

fairly sure its not a local virus thou.
I guess, someone [at vivaciti ?] has some christmas overtime work to do...


** to disable link.
Standard User ggremlin
(newbie) Thu 24-Dec-09 18:12:48
Print Post

Re: Vivaciti Broadband - link via google.


[re: ggremlin] [link to this post]
retested working now, well done vivaciti,

happy christmas to all, especially those in systems support everwhere!
Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread

Jump to