General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User mathew2
(member) Tue 19-Apr-11 22:36:46
Print Post

Possible change to Sky Unlimited LLU from Plusnet Pro

[link to this post]

Hi All,

I'm currently a happy PN Pro customer and have been for over 2-years, I have never had an issue with it really.

Sky and talktalk have just become available in my small exchange (~2.9k residential connections).

I'm thinking of switching to sky LLU for broadband (keeping BT for rental for ease of ISP switching if Sky poor) as they are so much cheaper (would save £10 pcm) and offer unlimited use and the possibility of faster speed (sky's webpage says 8-10Mb on my line, I currently max out IP stream with an 8Mb sync).

How is sky, many problems? Is it fast at all times of the day like PN pro? Is it traffic shaped? Any cons compared to PN pro? Is static IP a possibility?

Thanks for any replies.

plusnet bbywpro sincemarch '09

Edited by mathew2 (Tue 19-Apr-11 22:37:40)

Standard User acpsd775
(member) Tue 19-Apr-11 23:19:30
Print Post

Re: Possible change to Sky Unlimited LLU from Plusnet Pro

[re: mathew2] [link to this post]

Hi i can answer a few but not all they do not traffic shape at all. As far as i no from friends family it stays the same speed all day/night for them. They DO NOT offer static ips at all and the only con is that you've got to use there router its in there terms. But most people including my self in a few week will be using own routers by extracting login details from sky router. My best friends estimate was 8-10 he gets 14 i think they lower it to cover there own backs so you cant say well you promised me this speed etc but cant be 100% on that could just be him being lucky.