General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User dtech
(newbie) Wed 01-Jun-11 13:57:23
Print Post

advice for new isp

[link to this post]

Hi there, just come here for some advice to decide which isp to go with. I am no expert on broadband by any means, but thats the reason i'm here.
First of all were moving house and this will be our exchange:
http://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange/CMSNI

On the availability checker the distance i will be from the exchange is aprox 240 metres, whether this is acurate i don't know.
Also it says that i can get 7.5Mbps via ADSL Max but only 2Mbps on standard ADSL. What is ADSL Max and will I get it on any isp that I sign up for?

Thanks,

Dan

Edited by dtech (Wed 01-Jun-11 13:58:14)

Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Wed 01-Jun-11 14:15:20
Print Post

Re: advice for new isp

[re: dtech] [link to this post]

standard ADSL as in what BT Wholesale calls standard has a maximum fixed speed of 2Meg.

ADSL Max is what the world calls RADSL and will run at between 160 and 8128Kbps dependant on line length.

ADSL Max is what you will get from 99% of ISP's and is what they sell as an up to 8Meg product.

It may be worth a walk just to check the exchange location is correct.

Andrew Ferguson, andrew@thinkbroadband.com
www.thinkbroadband.com - formerly known as ADSLguide.org.uk
The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User dtech
(newbie) Wed 01-Jun-11 15:14:42
Print Post

[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]

Ok thanks for the reply.
Could you give me any advice on which isp to go for, I've been looking at BT and Orange and would like anytime calls with them but I have heard a lot of bad things about orange in the past but they are alot cheaper. Has anyone had any experience with orange broadband and phone recently?