General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User sp3ctre
(newbie) Tue 02-Aug-11 11:28:10
Print Post

Hew house- BT ADSL or another ISP?

[link to this post]

I currently have Virgin cable but am moving to a new house which is not cabled.

I am hoping at some point that our local exchange will be FTTC enabled and maybe they will roll out the 40Mb service to us. In the mean time I need to get some kind of ADSL service.

The online BT checker says I should get 2-3Mb, but Orange says 6Mb. I would've thought both services would be ADSL2+ as the exchanged is enabled, but I am not an expert.

Question is, if I want to ultimately be on a fast connection should I sign up with BT and hope FTTC gets rolled out or should I go with Orange?
Standard User XRaySpeX
(knowledge is power) Tue 02-Aug-11 11:41:35
Print Post

Re: Hew house- BT ADSL or another ISP?

[re: sp3ctre] [link to this post]

Which exchange? Enabled for what?

Orange BB is now run by BT, so there won't be much difference.

1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up => 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB => 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB => 2008: Orange 8 Meg LLU => 2010: Orange 16 Meg LLU => 2011: Orange 17 Meg Untweaked 19 Meg Tweaked WBC
Standard User sp3ctre
(newbie) Tue 02-Aug-11 11:44:55
Print Post

[re: XRaySpeX] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by XRaySpeX:
Which exchange? Enabled for what?

Orange BB is now run by BT, so there won't be much difference.

Sorry, told you I wasn't an expert.. it is the Knaresborough exchange and the postcode is HG5 9LS. As far as I can see the exchange has ADSL2+ and I presume (not sure if i'm right) that all ADSL from there should be ADSL2+.

My report from the BT broadband checker seems to suggest 2Mb by ADSL, 4Mb by ADSL Max (no idea what that is) and 6Mb by ADSL2+.