General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User alex_90
(newbie) Wed 31-Aug-11 20:30:38
Print Post

Moving into new house, looking for a decent ISP.

[link to this post]

Hello, new poster here in need of some ISP advice!

I'll try to keep this as short as I can: I'm a student moving into a new property looking for a decent ISP. After looking through a few other threads I noticed people asking others to use this service to pinpoint ISP's available in their area, these are my results.

What I'm looking for is an unlimited package(whatever that means these days *sigh*), not that concerned about speed, but I would like a minimum of around 20Mbit. I'm a moderately heavy user, quite a bit of torrenting(nothing uh, illegal, naturally)/using services like Steam to download games(additionally, I'll be sharing the flat with another person, so the usage goes up quite a bit, too) but most importantly, I play online games and would like a stable connection. In my last flat I was using Sky Unlimited Broadband and was 100% satisfied with it (if that's an indication of the kind of service I'm looking for), unfortunately Sky Unlimited is not available in my new address. Cost doesn't matter that much, but I'd like something around 30-35 pounds or less(including line rental).

Also, I'm not going to be moving into my new flat until around the 22nd of September, but I would like to call somebody up within the next few days and arrange everything so I can be online as soon as possible, hopefully within a week of arriving. An ISP that would allow this (e.g, being able to send the router to another address as I won't be there when it arrives) would be preferable. After a bit of (bad) research, Virgin unlimited 50MBit or a package from BE seem to be the most appropriate, although I did have a bad experience with Virgin tech support last year while ISP searching, so that's that.