General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User magpie
(regular) Wed 30-May-12 19:55:55
Print Post

Contention Question

[link to this post]

Hi, my exchange is about to go live with FTTC and as I'm a VM national customer I need to change isp. Price isn't a big issue and I'm happy to bundle line rental/calls/TV/internet if needs be. I'm tempted to go for Sky as I have a TV subscription but someone told me that their contention ratio is of the order of 50:1 and that eg Plusnet are 20:1, so they (plusnet) won't slow down as much.
Is this true? I've tried contacting both isps and their call centre prople seems unwilling or unable to give me a straight answer.
Am I concerned about something which amounts to only a minor issue or not?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Standard User Kr1s69
(knowledge is power) Wed 30-May-12 21:07:12
Print Post

Re: Contention Question

[re: magpie] [link to this post]

contention of 50:1 and 20:1 relates to ADSL products from years ago when sold by BT Wholesale based ISPs using legacy BT wholesale products.....

Sky don't have any traffic shaping and offer an unlimited product. As a result any slow down is a result of natural contention normally seen between you and other users located close to you (same exchange or closely located exchanges)

Plusnet have a complex traffic management system that limits your speed based on the activity being used based on published information on their website. So P2P and other high bandwidth things can be limited with web browsing remaining unlimited. Plusnet offer a slightly less restricted service for an additional £5.

For me Plusnet's system would be slower than my current ADSL2 product (18Mbps connection) so I would only consider Sky or BT.

Kris

Sky Broadband Unlimited
Ashington (Northumberland) Exchange
Fibre due June 2012!
Standard User magpie
(regular) Wed 30-May-12 21:51:28
Print Post