General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User zordon
(newbie) Sat 15-Sep-12 13:11:24
Print Post

Move from PlusNet to TalkTalk

[link to this post]

Hi All, I'm looking on advise on moving from PlusNet to TalkTalk

My exchange only has BT ADSL max (21CN at the end of the year) and the only LLU is TalkTalk.

As TalkTalk is LLU they can give me faster speeds than BT/PlusNet at this moment in time.

If speed was the only consideration I would remain with PlusNet as this will get upgraded at the end of the year anyway.

What I would like to do streaming as I have a love film subscription to get BluRay disks and this package also allows streaming. Also I would like to make more use of Sky+ Anytime and download TV episodes etc.

PlusNet have a 80GB limit, so its for this reason I am considering TalkTalk.

Is TalkTalk any better / worse than PlusNet?

Also do you have to use the router they supply?

Also are they known to block any certain traffic as I do use RDP a fair bit.

Thanks

Mark
Standard User XRaySpeX
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Sat 15-Sep-12 13:16:17
Print Post

Re: Move from PlusNet to TalkTalk

[re: zordon] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by zordon:
As TalkTalk is LLU they can give me faster speeds than BT/PlusNet at this moment in time.
That depends! What are your router stats now? What exchange?

1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up => 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB => 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB => 2008: Orange 8 Meg LLU => 2010: Orange 16 Meg LLU => 2011: Orange 19 Meg WBC
Standard User Apprentice
(knowledge is power) Sat 15-Sep-12 13:55:01
Print Post

Be aware with TalkTalk they will want to provide full LLU (MPF)

Have a read of this from another site's forum.

Alastair

omadasafisho

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User RobertoS
(sensei) Sat 15-Sep-12 14:33:15
Print Post

[re: Apprentice] [link to this post]