General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User ampersand
(newbie) Tue 06-Nov-12 09:06:20
Print Post

Shall I switch to EE from Virgin (Fiber)

[link to this post]

Hi,

I have been using Virgin Fiber 50 meg for more then a year now as they were the only option in my area.
I was wondering if EE would be better (definitely cheaper and faster) option for me. I do a lot of download and also have a server setup at home (I am a developer).

I am paying around £40 a month to virgin for 50 meg and EE offering 76 meg for £25.

I don't know if either of them do throttling though. Info about that would be good as well, if anyone knows smile

Thanks in advance.
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Tue 06-Nov-12 09:08:41
Print Post

Re: Shall I switch to EE from Virgin (Fiber)

[re: ampersand] [link to this post]

The EE service is based on the openreach FTTC, so if available so will BT Infinity and Sky Fibre and TalkTalk Fibre most likely.

EE is believed to use traffic management, but not seen a live user to give feedback yet.

NOTE: With FTTC you need to check the estimate for the specific lines speed to get a good idea.

Andrew Ferguson, andrew@thinkbroadband.com
www.thinkbroadband.com - formerly known as ADSLguide.org.uk
The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User ampersand
(newbie) Tue 06-Nov-12 09:11:54
Print Post

[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by MrSaffron:
The EE service is based on the openreach FTTC, so if available so will BT Infinity and Sky Fibre and TalkTalk Fibre most likely.

EE is believed to use traffic management, but not seen a live user to give feedback yet.

NOTE: With FTTC you need to check the estimate for the specific lines speed to get a good idea.