General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User StuMcBill
(newbie) Tue 18-Dec-12 12:00:32
Print Post

Questions regarding Sky Broadband and talk

[link to this post]

I currently have BT Line Rental with a 60Gb Plusnet broadband provision, however, I am moving house soon and I was thinking about moving & consolidating my Broadband & Phone provider.

I am currently considering Sky, as I have a Sky+HD subscription with the TV On Demand service, and would like to utilise the Unlimited capability.

I just wondered if anyone had any good / bad experiences with Sky? I will mainly be using my broadband for general internet surfing, occasional gaming, TV On Demand (Sky & Netflix) file downloads (a bit of p2p sharing, but not much).

I noticed that with Sky, I would have to take Sky Talk line rental, however, I have a couple of questions regarding it.

I am moving to Aberdeen, will my Sky Line still have an Aberdeen area code (01224)?
99% of our phone calls on our land line are from the other half's parents, who are on a BT Line with unlimited evening & weekend landline calls, will it cost them any extra to call us? Or is it still just classed as a Landline?

Sorry if these questions are silly, I have just been used to dealing with BT for my phone line.

Thanks

Stewart
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Tue 18-Dec-12 12:30:04
Print Post

Re: Questions regarding Sky Broadband and talk

[re: StuMcBill] [link to this post]

Areas codes are as you would expect, i.e. Aberdeen code on aberdeen exchange
Calls for parents will remain within their unlimited evening and weekend bundle as it is still a UK landline

My experience has been fine, even had a smooth fault repair when telephone line broke just down the road.

Andrew Ferguson, andrew@thinkbroadband.com
www.thinkbroadband.com - formerly known as ADSLguide.org.uk