General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User clang
(newbie) Fri 18-Jan-13 15:37:36
Print Post

Moving over to the UK

[link to this post]

Hello there,
I'm new and am moving to the UK shortly.
One of the numerous things I have to take care about is the internet connection though as soon as I took a step into looking at all the offers, I felt overwhelmed.
I know some stuff although I am no expert but I know what I want.

The spec I am looking for is essentially one: unthrottled p2p traffic.
I know this is pretty much impossible but since I am a heavy downloader I would like to find the best performance ISP even with throttled traffic enabled.

My initial thought was Virgin since they have a 100Mb connection and even if they throttle it half the way it's still 5 times faster than what I have now!
I have already lurked some forums and seen that BT has some problems whiel PN has to have the PRO option to get some real benefits.

Before making the decision though I thought I would post to ask your advice.
I have a 50£/mo budget.

Thank you in advance
Standard User Uilebheist
(legend) Fri 18-Jan-13 16:53:40
Print Post

Re: Moving over to the UK

[re: clang] [link to this post]

It would help to know where you are moving to - in particular, which telephone exchange serves the area, to see what LLU services are available.