General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User sjdean
(learned) Sat 04-May-13 10:28:41
Print Post

New ISP

[link to this post]

Hi guys, Im looking for a new ISP after BeThere have been taken over by Sky.

Not that Im phased by Sky, their product seems competitively priced with great reviews.

But, I am not a consumer, Im not a genre, or category, Im not a statistic or group, Im an individual. Yes, we are all individuals.

So, Im after:

BeThere by another name:

Static IP (dynamically assigned static is OK too)
Unlimited (well Im not technically bothered by unlimited, 30 Gig should be fine - I just don't like having restrictions if I do need to go over that)
Ideally no traffic shaping

I don't live in a FTTC area despite living in the second city. To be honest, I can't even see any green cabinets around here, closest one is on another road about 500 yards away, so I doubt my ability to even get Fibre at the moment with our overhead cables. I've even been round the block, and I can't see any green boxes. Odd.

I see Zen get consistent reviews, but Im not too sure about these graphs, because they rate Virgin quite highly! When I had it plugged into my Smoothwall, the service kept going down and there would be regular slow downs and other problems. Im surprised more people don't have a problem with them.

I would consider moving back to PlusNet, again, Im not totally bothered about their "unlimited" package, but I would be more interested in getting unfiltered, you know, if I could pay £25 a month, for say 30 Gig and be able to download what I want when I want it.