General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Blue1313
(newbie) Thu 30-May-13 20:49:13
Print Post

Sky v BT v Plusnet

[link to this post]

Hi,

Firstly I'm no expert with all this - I would just like to have fibre to enable me to finally watch films through the internet without waiting all day or watch live streaming.

I'm currently with sky broadband (the unlimited package) and it's always been pretty slow. Generally 2 to 3 mbps.

Just called Sky to find out how much it would be to change to Sky Fibre Unlimited and it would be £20 per month but they will do half price for 6 months and waive the £50 installation set up fee. This would be for a 12 month contract.

The guy was very much talking me out of the Fibre Pro package as I live alone and he said that the difference between speeds would be hard for me to tell the difference in. Is that true? He said it was max speed of 40 for the unlimited and for pro 65.

The easy option will be to stay with Sky as no having to ring round requesting MAC codes but I must admit the BT Infinity offering is tempting due to being a bit of a football fan and having no idea how much Sky will charge.

I've also heard and read good things about PlusNet. So in your opinion, which is best and are Infinity or Plus net worth the initial hassle? Also was the guy right about not noticing the difference in speeds between the two max speeds?

Thanks for any advice you can offer. Blue.
Standard User ukhardy07
(fountain of knowledge) Thu 30-May-13 21:04:11
Print Post

Re: Sky v BT v Plusnet

[re: Blue1313] [link to this post]

Firstly I'm no expert with all this - I would just like to have fibre to enable me to finally watch films through the internet without waiting all day or watch live streaming.

All 3 will do this