General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User funkydan
(newbie) Wed 26-Jun-13 16:59:42
Print Post

ADSL24 or Vivaciti??

[link to this post]

Hello all.
Newbie here with first post.
I currently have my broadband supplied from BE and my land line from BT.
Due to the ongoing situation at BE i have got a MAC code from them and am looking at changing both my broadband and land line. I do not want to be tied into a 12 or 18 month contract and have narrowed my search down to ADSL24 or Vivaciti.
I have become confused as to what will happen if i sign up with either regarding LLU.
I do not want to switch to either and then further down the line if i decide to switch to a different ISP have to pay a reconnection charge because my line has been taken away from BT's equipment. I have read that some ISP's will require a BT line and will not be able take on a supply until the line is switched back to BT which is chargeable.
As you all are very knowledgeable on these subjects could someone confirm if i chose an LLU BB supply and LL supply will these still be using BT's equipment?
I am swaying towards ADSL24 because their website gives more detailed information regarding what services are offered and pricing.
I am not to far from my exchange and currently have a download speed of 10mb. It used to be 14mb so i know i can get a faster connection.
Your help will be appreciated.
Standard User XRaySpeX
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Wed 26-Jun-13 18:22:40
Print Post

Re: ADSL24 or Vivaciti??

[re: funkydan] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by funkydan:
if i chose an LLU BB supply and LL supply will these still be using BT's equipment?
There's 2 types of LLU: Full or Partial.

With Partial LLU the landline stays with BTw and you can migrate the BB easily later on using the MAC process.