General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User JPD
(newbie) Sun 13-Apr-14 23:16:20
Print Post

Broadband

[link to this post]

I am having a lot of trouble finding a service to suit me - the business services are aimed at (strangely) businesses, but do not seem to cover "one man" setups, however all the "home" services are aimed at FaceBook users who will not notice or care if their internet is poor

As an independent stock trader I am looking for broadband with a low ping and high reliability but I do not need a high download speed

I have currently tried:

Virgin Media which disconnected every 15 minutes but worked well when it was online

BT Fibre Broadband which is, graciously, consistently unreliable, instead of ambushing me with a disconnection when it is least convenient. About 1/3 of the time it will ignore an internet-based instruction be it clicking a link or typing a web address and I have to open a new tab and start again...this seems very much like packet loss which I thought was not a problem of 2014

Thanks very much for any help someone can offer

Edited by JPD (Sun 13-Apr-14 23:21:59)

Standard User XRaySpeX
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Mon 14-Apr-14 01:45:55
Print Post

Re: Broadband

[re: JPD] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by JPD:
all the 'home' services are aimed at FaceBook users
Yeah! You're right! None of them are suitable for HFT. You need your own exclusive $2.8bn dead-straight 800 mile fibre-optic cable just like the one they are laying between the Chicago & NY exchanges, so you can jump the ordinary punters.

BTW: Have you tried changing your DNS? Or just don't use domain names grin.

1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up => 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB => 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB => 2008: Orange 8 Meg LLU => 2010: Orange 16 Meg LLU => 2011: Orange 20 Meg WBC
Standard User ian72
(knowledge is power) Mon 14-Apr-14 08:45:28
Print Post

Re: Broadband