General Discussion
  >> Which ISP? (Residential)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User MartinJT
(newbie) Sat 15-Oct-16 13:43:02
Print Post

Does the Fibre provider actually matter for performance?

[link to this post]

I'm moving house, so I'm in the market for a new provider.

I'm currently with Vivaciti, and I have zero complaints. I mean zero, they're amazing. Been with them for ~6 years.

My issue is, can I do better? or can I go cheaper? Is there actually much difference between providers.

When I move, I'll be working from home a great deal. So, I'll be using video conferencing, VOIP (like skype for business etc.) regularly during the day. This in addition to general evening usage of Streaming, Gaming and downloading. I'll also need a static ip, and an IPv6 range.

I'm techy by trade (not just a normal techy, I've been doing infrastructure for many years), so I'm not in need of any tech support. Having a 9-5 support line for issues with the provider is more than enough for me.

My question then is, what sort of difference does it make going to different underlying provider? I know vivaciti is an Entanet reseller, I seem to recall their being another one called Obit?

I'm looking at either staying with Vivaciti, pulse8 looks good, or possibly going mainstream with Sky/TalkTalk?

Any insights would be helpful.
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Sat 15-Oct-16 14:08:32
Print Post

Re: Does the Fibre provider actually matter for performance?

[re: MartinJT] [link to this post]

All depends on how each provider is picking up the GEA data feed and how they get that to the wider Internet

So in terms of connection speed no major differences, but things like peak time performance that you experience can vary

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.