Technical Discussion
  >> Windows Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User cheshire_man
(fountain of knowledge) Sun 21-Aug-11 15:22:20
Print Post

Webcam under Skype no longer works - freezes PC

[link to this post]

PC is Windows XP Pro. Webcam is Logitech Quickcam S7500. Skype is (now) V5.5.0.113.

I've been using this webcam with Skype irregularly for about three years. 2 or 3 months ago when I went to use it I found that when in Skype and with the webcam active the PC locks up. Only a power-switch-forced power down and boot would get the PC going. At that time I was using Skype V.4.1.0.179.

The webcam works fine with the Logitech control software and can see the picture, take snapshots, etc. Skype works fine voice only.

If I invoke the webcam in Skype, whether to set the video settings or in a call, within 5-10 seconds the PC locks up.

I've uninstalled and re-installed the webcam software, similarly with Skype. I've upgraded Skype to the latest version. All to no avail.

The webcam image seems to have developed a flickering most, but not all, of the time.

Could the webcam have failed and could such a fail have the affect of locking up the PC?

Any thoughts on the problem?

Tony
Standard User cheshire_man
(fountain of knowledge) Tue 23-Aug-11 19:50:55
Print Post

Re: Webcam under Skype no longer works - freezes PC

[re: cheshire_man] [link to this post]

I've resolved the problem.

I tried the webcam on my netbook Ė disabled the onboard one. All worked fine on Skype. Put it back on the desktop Ė locked up after a few seconds on Skype