Technical Discussion
  >> Windows Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Anonymous
(Unregistered)Mon 10-Oct-11 10:48:12
Print Post

windows does not shutdown when lid is closed

[link to this post]

Occasionally when I close the lid of my Dell laptop, windows does not shutdown propely. I know this because when I open the lid I am given various options to proceed ie normal mode, safe mode etc.My first reaction may be that I did not close the lid properly !! Is there any other reason ?
Standard User DavidFinbarr
(freechataholic) Mon 10-Oct-11 10:59:56
Print Post

Re: windows does not shutdown when lid is closed

[re: Anonymous] [link to this post]

I'm no expert but I believe there is a setting that tells what action to take when the lid in closed EG "shut down" "sleep" I think it might be in the power settings.
Check that is set to "shut down"

A bottle of white, a bottle of red
Perhaps a bottle of rosé instead.
Standard User G3UZF
(committed) Mon 10-Oct-11 11:04:20
Print Post

[re: DavidFinbarr] [link to this post]

Agree...

There must be something in the shut-down settings that is causing the problem.

Or, are you the guy that keeps opening the 'fridge door to see if the light has gone out?

Allergy Advice: This post may contain traces of Meerkats.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User ian72
(knowledge is power) Mon 10-Oct-11 14:04:00
Print Post

[re: G3UZF] [link to this post]

Could be a problem with drivers or other software not allowing the machine to close down properly. Likely the same problem would occur going through a normal start menu shutdown as using the shutdown on the lid closing. Personally I don't have laptops do anything on the lid closing as I will often close the lid when moving to another location and I want the choice of when a laptop shuts down or goes to sleep.