Technical Discussion
  >> Windows Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User CHRISMUR
(newbie) Thu 21-Jun-12 18:19:16
Print Post

BROADBAND CONNECTION IS STOPPING COMPUTER FROM STARTING UP

[link to this post]

"Hello", This may not be the correct section to post this enquiry in [?] - But it is about My Computer which is running Windows 7 Home Premium:

Please excuse My lack of correct Computer Terminology - I am a complete `Novice` in Computing having come to it at a very late Age - ALL that I have taught Myself to do is basically Browsing the Internet and Emailing.

This Problem has recently started - I have been using My Computer for about 3 Years and I am sure that I have not done anything that would have changed any `Settings` regarding the Computer and Router connections etc.

When My Computer tries to Start Up it goes through the usual process after I enter My Password and the Screen shows all of the Program Icons.

BUT - on the Broadband / Internet Access Icon on the Bottom of the Screen there is the circular / turning display that you usually get for a couple of Seconds when the Computer is connecting to the Router / Internet Access - this does not ever show the Internet Access has been established.

This Stops any use of the Computer - including the Restart facility - I have had to actually Turn Off the Computer by turning off the Power - obviously I know that this is NOT a desirable situation to be in.

The Computer and Router are connected with an Ethernet Cable - No wireless access is used.

I decided to try the Start Up process with the Router Turned Off - the Computer Started Up correctly.

When I then Turned On the Router after perhaps 30 Seconds the Broadband / Internet Access Icon showed that Internet Access had been established - I am assuming that the approximately 30 Seconds wait was mainly due to the Router `Booting Up`.