Technical Discussion
  >> Windows Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User DonalTrainor82
(newbie) Fri 20-Jul-12 17:32:40
Print Post

Serious problem

[link to this post]

I'm trying to fix a laptop for a friend of a friend. I am by no means an expert but have gained some experience with fixing and repairing laptops and pcs.

The laptop that I am trying to sort out is a Toshiba C660 with a Intel Core i3 with Windows 7. When I turned the laptop on I was greeted with a recovery screen with two options 1. Start Windows recovery to find and fix problem and 2. Start Windows normally. After many attempts at starting and restarting I got into the recovery program and ran some diagnostics and Windows told me there was no problems (which is obviously not true) so I then tried a clean install with success it installed but the mouse touchpad does not work and it is taking forever to load the login screen and then into the desktop.

A few things I am asking questions about : Is the hard drive on its way out and did I install the right version of Windows 7, version I used is Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit. Is the laptop 32 bit?? I couldnt tell because I couldnt get logged in to check. Also I am wondering if there is enough RAM to support 64 bit...

The hard drive seems to be in some sort of loop when I listen to hear for activity and it has just froze on me again. Balls!

My Broadband Speed Test
Standard User flippery
(regular) Fri 20-Jul-12 18:46:30
Print Post

Re: Serious problem

[re: DonalTrainor82] [link to this post]

how did you install the software. You say clean install was this over existing installation or did you reformat disk first and then use the toshiba disk supplied with laptop. To be honest anything than reformat would not solve any problems.