Technical Discussion
  >> Windows Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User smiffy12
(experienced) Sun 12-Oct-14 10:20:10
Print Post

Installing Win 8.1 64 to 3TB Disc

[link to this post]

Hello,

I've come a little unstuck here as have done something I've never done before - I've built a PC with a 3TB and 2TB drive. I want to partition the 3TB drive to have a 1TB C Drive and 2TB D Drive. The C drive will look after the OS and program files. The D Drive will have all user folder items (Docs, Pics, Music, etc) mapped to it. The additional 2TB HDD will be set to be a back up drive for the D drive so if one fails, all user specific data is still intact regardless of which drive fails.

The problem I have is installing the OS to the 3TB drive. When I create a 1TB C drive partition, the OS installs fine but in Windows, once it starts, in disk manager, I get the following:

350MB System Reserved
C 1071.09TB
976.56 Unallocated
746.52 Unallocated

On the 976.56 unallocated, I can right click and the option is there to create a new simple volume. There are no options available (all greyed out) for the 746.52. I really need to get these two as one partition but can't see how to do it.

Apparently it has something to do with GPT against MBR, but I cant see anyway of activating this in the start up install of Windows 8. I've drawn a blank other than this on Google and am scared of making a hash of this, hence my asking (in desperation) for some help or pointers from people who know far more than me smile

Please can anyone help, I'd be most grateful for any and all advice smile
Standard User Pipexer
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Sun 12-Oct-14 13:07:47
Print Post

Re: Installing Win 8.1 64 to 3TB Disc

[re: smiffy12] [link to this post]