Technical Discussion
  >> Windows Issues

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User trolleybus
(committed) Thu 05-Feb-15 15:08:43
Print Post

Missing Key in Registry

[link to this post]

I find that I have a missing key in regedit.
This is HEKY_LOCAL_MACHINE >> SYSTEM >> CurrentControlSet >> services >> RasMan >> Parameters >> ProhibitIpSec

How can a add this ProhibitIpSec key safely?

I am a Windows7 Pro user with Service Pack 1 installed. Completely up-to-date with all patches.
Standard User camieabz
(sensei) Thu 05-Feb-15 16:11:29
Print Post

Re: Missing Key in Registry

[re: trolleybus] [link to this post]

I would read this carefully and see what you do and don't have.

http://support.microsoft.com/KB/240262

With luck, you can create registry keys/values based on that.

P.S. - First, do you have the IPsec Policy Agent listed in your Services list? If so, what's it's status and can it be enabled disabled without problems?
Standard User trolleybus
(committed) Fri 06-Feb-15 12:28:45
Print Post

Re: Missing Key in Registry

[re: camieabz] [link to this post]

Good heavens, someone out there who actually knows all about this issue! As it happens my 'How To' guide is somewhat different to the Microsoft script being more related to my hardware and operating system and was found at http://www.draytek.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=...

By slavishly following this route it was found that the missing registry key mystically appeared in regedit so it is no longer an issue.

I have successfully made the desired VPN connection but it was a hard slog over a 14 day period to get a result with much misinformation from various sources and incomprehensive technical information supplied by Virgin Media Business which varied according to the representative spoken to.