User comments on ISPs
  >> Wireless Broadband ISPs (not wireless ADSL routers)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Anonymous
(Unregistered)Sun 05-Jun-11 12:18:17
Print Post

VFast viable for gaming and remote working?

[link to this post]

Hey guys!

I am moving to thanet this August to get away from the rat race and when I was researching isps, it turns out that the houses i'm looking at aren't capable of receiving a service from BT or Virgin...

That leaves VFast, both my son and I are very avid computer gamers and currently we enjoy really good pings and speeds for the gaming in London, I am not an expert on internet so I dont know if wireless is good for gaming.

I have been told too that it is very bad for remote desktop working. I work for a Norwegian company and most of us work from home, which is fine with our virgin but some of my work mates said that wireless isnt good for this either. As I said I dont know much about itnernet but im not too keen to get a service what isnt good for what i need it for.

I am looking at houses in the Manston/Fleet/Lydden/Minster sort of area, do any of you guys live near there and have any feedback?

Thanks for reading,

Espen Olsen
Standard User Yaz
(experienced) Sun 05-Jun-11 12:53:03
Print Post

Re: VFast viable for gaming and remote working?

[re: Anonymous] [link to this post]

Hi Espen,

I would say that the advice you have been given is out of date.

I've been with vFast for a couple of years (served from a mast in Dunkirk) and my pings are around 10ms to sites like the BBC etc and also for gaming.

I'm currently on the 15mb down / 2mb up package which works perfectly for home working (tried and tested). If you need the increased upload (and lower contention) there is a 25mb down / 10mb up package.

SlimJ is in Thanet on vFast and will be able to give you a better report on the local service.

vFast Ltd