User comments on ISPs
  >> Wireless Broadband ISPs (not wireless ADSL routers)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Anonymous
(Unregistered)Thu 01-Sep-11 02:12:22
Print Post

Is VFast the only wireless broadband in Kent?

[link to this post]

I've just moved to Kent from London and now have really horrible broadband - I use Pipex and get only 1mbps download speed, 200kbps during peak times. I am looking for something faster but people in the area have said VFast service is unreliable in the evenings and is extremely expensive.

Unfortunately it seems that there are no plans to improve our phone lines any time soon so I may be forced to go with VFast.

Are there any viable alternatives?

Just for information, I live in Thanet very near to Westwood Cross and I don't get any 3g signals (i've tried) and Satellite is both too expensive and too slow.

I work as a freelance photographer and journalist which means I do often upload a bunch of photographs to my website and even more often I have to download large raw uncompressed image files which are cripplingly slow with this [censored] connection.

In the evening I used to use my internet for streaming video (LOVEFiLM, iPlayer, YouTube, ITVPlayer, 4oD etc) but haven't been able to since moving here because speeds are too low. I also used to play Xbox Live games but this is also not really possible with such [censored] speeds.

I have tried taking my laptop to my friend's and using VFast connection but while his net is slightly faster than mine it's still pretty [censored] and I don't fancy forking out £27 a month for something that's only slightly faster.
Anonymous
(Unregistered)Thu 01-Sep-11 07:43:07
Print Post

Re: Is VFast the only wireless broadband in Kent?

[re: Anonymous] [link to this post]

Hello,

Going by your post, I'm guessing your either in Newington or around Manston Village.