User comments on ISPs
  >> Wireless Broadband ISPs (not wireless ADSL routers)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User VenusAndMars
(newbie) Tue 20-Mar-12 10:16:11
Print Post

How maximize connection speed

[link to this post]

Hello,

I am fairly new to wireless broadband and would like to know what I can do to maximize my connection speed - a not to original wish I would imagine wink

My modem is a USB stick on the end of some 20 ft of extension cable hanging out the window of my apartment in the general direction of the nearest 3G mast/tower.

I wonder to what extent the signal received by the modem is attenuated by this lenght of cable i.e. if I should worry about trying to move my PC closer to a wall and in general what can be done to maximize connection speed.

For instance I just learned that there is such a thing as active USB cables, are they worth the money? Does such a cable improve things to a significant degree?

Thank you.
Standard User anglianbroadband
(newbie) Sun 06-May-12 11:09:34
Print Post

Re: How maximize connection speed

[re: VenusAndMars] [link to this post]

First of all, that's not Wireless Broadband, that's 3G Mobile Broadband.
You need to look into all the available 3G dongles and external directional antennas for them.
If you post your POSTCODE then people where can tell you if you are in range of a WISP (Wireless Internet Service Provider). This way you can have more traffic per month and more speed and reliability. Obviously it's not mobile as the antenna would be bolted to your chimney.

Connecting you to 2meg or more in rural Essex
Standard User 5km
(knowledge is power) Sun 06-May-12 11:48:18
Print Post

The 3G signal isn't attenuated by the USB cable ... that's a different signal altogether.

... I'm sure I've explained that before on here, in the correct mobile broadband forum.

O2 Broadband Premium LLU
Now on twitter @timmay2