User comments on ISPs
  >> Zen Internet


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.


Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Banger
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Wed 01-Jul-09 20:08:28
Print Post

DriveSpacio in Newsletter appears to be a virus


[link to this post]
 
Ok I downloaded the above and it just opens a command prompt and I don't know what I am now infected with. Thanks Zen.

Tim
ZeN & freenetname
ST546v6 on 8 Meg Active
Check my bad boy speeds out on ZeN
Standard User Banger
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Wed 01-Jul-09 20:24:46
Print Post

Re: DriveSpacio in Newsletter appears to be a virus


[re: Banger] [link to this post]
 
OK I have scanned my system and it appears to be clean, what have I downloaded? It's 15 bytes from hotshare.net titled Drivespacio0.1.0.exe, is it just a broken file download? Virustotal comes up clean, something not in the wild yet? Help

Tim
ZeN & freenetname
ST546v6 on 8 Meg Active
Check my bad boy speeds out on ZeN
Standard User Banger
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Wed 01-Jul-09 21:26:51
Print Post

Re: DriveSpacio in Newsletter appears to be a virus


[re: Banger] [link to this post]
 
Panic over, I opened the file with a hex editor and it says "File Not Found" LOL so it's not a Virus, apologies Zen.

Tim
ZeN & freenetname
ST546v6 on 8 Meg Active
Check my bad boy speeds out on ZeN


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User Pipexer
(knowledge is power) Thu 02-Jul-09 01:27:59
Print Post

Re: DriveSpacio in Newsletter appears to be a virus


[re: Banger] [link to this post]
 
In reply to a post by Banger:
Ok I downloaded the above and it just opens a command prompt and I don't know what I am now infected with. Thanks Zen.

dont jump the gun wink

______________
Zen 8000 Active
Standard User herbgold
(member) Fri 03-Jul-09 17:02:00
Print Post

Re: DriveSpacio in Newsletter appears to be a virus


[re: Banger] [link to this post]
 
Well, panic not entirely over, perhaps - I've just been back to hotshare.net (the site where you can supposedly download DriveSpacio for free), and Norton tells me of two threats - one security risk and one spyware. These are threats on the site, needless I didn't go as far as to download the wretched software itself. Anybody from Zen care to comment?
Standard User mugwumpx
(committed) Sun 05-Jul-09 07:50:18
Print Post

Re: DriveSpacio in Newsletter appears to be a virus


[re: herbgold] [link to this post]
 
Download it directly from the author

http://www.drivespacio.f-sw.com/index.html

Mugwump

Origo Repair CD - www.origo-repair.org.uk
Routertech - A new help site for all things router & networking
ISP Representative Zenops
(isp) Sun 05-Jul-09 17:06:20
Print Post

Re: DriveSpacio in Newsletter appears to be a virus


[re: herbgold] [link to this post]
 
I'm running Norton Security Suite version 16.5.0.134 with all patches and virus up to date I can't replicate this issue at all from the link in the Zen newsletter right through to downloading.

Gary

ZeN Internet - Service Improvement and Regulatory Manager


-------------------------IMPORTANT---------------------
The opinions expressed here are my own and not necessarily
those of my employers "Zen Internet".

Please note, I will not respond to unsolicited private messages.
------------------------------------------------------------
The above post has been made by an ISP REPRESENTATIVE (although not necessarily the ISP being discussed in the post).
Standard User alewis
(committed) Mon 06-Jul-09 08:45:26
Print Post

Re: DriveSpacio in Newsletter appears to be a virus


[re: Zenops] [link to this post]
 
In reply to a post by Zenops:
I'm running Norton Security Suite version 16.5.0.134...


Oh. Here I was thinking you were 'switched on' and knew better. Shame on you.


wink

The views expressed here are mine alone, and do NOT reflect those of my employer, present or previous.
Standard User AndyPandy
(experienced) Mon 06-Jul-09 14:12:20
Print Post

Re: DriveSpacio in Newsletter appears to be a virus


[re: alewis] [link to this post]
 
Hehe, if Norton tells you a site isn't safe, you can assume that it probably is safe. If it doesn't warn you that a site isn't safe then beware.

This assumes that you were patient enough to wait 15 minutes for the site to load in the first place....

ZeN 8000 Pro
Draytek Vigor 2600G
Standard User alewis
(committed) Mon 06-Jul-09 14:29:26
Print Post

Re: DriveSpacio in Newsletter appears to be a virus


[re: AndyPandy] [link to this post]
 
Or wait 30mins for the PC to boot up, then another 15 to load post-login... and then another 15whilst it opens then closes the pop-up that warns it will expire in 3 months and so would one care to renew now...

What "uninstall" option....

The views expressed here are mine alone, and do NOT reflect those of my employer, present or previous.
Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread

Jump to