User comments on ISPs
  >> Zen Internet

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User lbctsolutions
(newbie) Mon 19-Sep-11 13:23:04
Print Post

Dynamic IP

[link to this post]

Hello,

I have been using Zen Internet for some 10 years now, and whilst using their services I have always been under a static IP.

I was wondering if perhaps there are any plans or options to convert to a dyanmic IP, as a situation arose from the static IP quite recently.

Essentially a cretinous little irk decided to initiate a Denial of Service attack on my IP address, and held my services down for 24 hours. Upon calling Zen they effectively told me that due to my must have provoked this attack it is effectively my problem and not theirs.

My only option was to regrade to an 8 IP option, which would reset my IP to a new one. This alleviated the subsequent attacks, but of course I fear if my new IP is exposed this could quite easily occur again.

While illegal and I did manage to grab packet captures and logs from my router and firewalling devices, I obtained the IPs that seemed to be attacking, and reported them to their respective providers.

Upon thorough investigation and multiple frustrating phone calls it would appear these IPs belong to a web host off shore in Germany and another in Russia, whom have completely ignored my reports in their entirety.

Is this not disgustingly against the law and more to the point, Zen ultimately should offer a dynamic IP to discourage this type of brute force attack. The reason why is simple indeed - because sometimes genuinely that person did NOT "deserve" that attack, and frankly I am still shocked after so much loyalty that Zen decided I simply must have.

Not once in 10 years have I had any reports against my name, my services, or any kind of attack, until just recently.