General Discussion
  >> Broadband Quality Monitor

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Peter5000
(newbie) Mon 17-Aug-20 15:41:29
Print Post

Educational - Need various connection graphs for 3 days

[link to this post]

Hey all,

Firstly apologies if this is not okay to post. I normally use this forum anonymously to browse and I'm currently a grad student about to complete their final project but as part of my practical. I'm measuring the broadband quality of different connection types.

So far I have
- FTTC

Unfortunately, I don't know anyone that has an FTTP, GFAST, ASDL, or Virgin Media connection that can assist me with the other graphs. I was wondering if anyone here has graphs for a 3 day period that would be okay sharing them with myself? Please do strip your IP of course I don't want that. I just need to be able to see the difference in latency between connections. I already suspect FTTP latency to be very minimal. My FTTC connection regularly has 20-30ms ping sadly with frequent packet drops.

My brother has FTTP but because it's a BT router I've heard it's impossible to setup BQM with it. I did try but to no avail, my main requirements are just to get an FTTP graph but GFAST/ASDL/Virgin media is a bonus!

Thanks in advance!

Edited by Peter5000 (Mon 17-Aug-20 15:45:53)

Standard User ian72
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Mon 17-Aug-20 16:24:28
Print Post

Re: Educational - Need various connection graphs for 3 days

[re: Peter5000] [link to this post]

Hi, I don't have a BQM but I think you may be missing something very significant from your project.

Are you aware that latency is far more to do with where you are in the country and where the end point is than it has to do with the connection? The difference in connection latency between the various technologies does exist but compared to the difference in distance it is minor.