User comments on ISPs
  >> BT Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | [10] | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User David_W
(fountain of knowledge) Sun 29-Sep-13 18:47:23
Print Post

Re: BT Broadband & Phone - Price Increase *DELETED*

[re: BatBoy] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by BatBoy:
According to the links I supplied, the court has ruled that there is no copyright in the matches themselves.
That's certainly one of the knottier points of copyright law, in which I am no expert.

The Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988 (as amended) defines works in which copyright subsists as original literary / dramatic / musical / artistic works (s. 1(1)(a)), sound recordings / films / broadcasts (s. 1(1)(b)) and the typography of published editions (s. 1(1)(c)).

The rights subsisting in copyright works are defined in s. 2, and the definitions of the types of works are expanded in ss. 3-5B. s. 6A extends copyright protection to certain satellite programming uplinked from a non-EU country that lacks EU equivalent copyright protection.

This means that there is no 'born copyright' (for want of a better phrase) in a sporting fixture. If you can find a vantage point to film it with a long lens without trespassing, you can do what you like with that coverage in which you own the copyright.