User comments on ISPs
  >> Demon Internet

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | [2] | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User RobertoS
(legend) Thu 21-Oct-10 22:42:05
Print Post

Re: Demon prioritising traffic at expense of HomeOffice user

[re: k3nnyc] [link to this post]

Contention ratios of 20:1 and 50:1 were removed by BT when they introduced ADSL Max. Business class merely get priority within the BT network now.

My broadband basic info/help site - www.robertos.me.uk
My domains,website and mail hosting - Tsohost. Internet connection - O2 Standard.
Standard User alangl52
(newbie) Mon 08-Nov-10 17:17:48
Print Post

[re: alangl52] [link to this post]

I complained to the ISP Association: Demon Customer Care (!) in the UK called me a week later, and got a technician onto the case (still Indian, but he seemed to know what he was doing). We ran the usual tests and he concluded what I have been telling them for 3 months - there's something wrong with their infrastructure. [We did a test to a business login username, which was not noticeably better]. Customer Care are now talking of an upgrade to a Business Account, which would get me the other side of the traffic prioritisation barrier (it's a pity about all you other guys still on HomeOffice); but the tests show that wouldn't fix the problem. I said that I would just like them to provide the service that I'm already paying for....
Standard User burk
(newbie) Tue 09-Nov-10 09:21:24
Print Post

Alan,
Go careful at moving across to Business 8000 - it's exactly what I did and it's no better.

This is what I have gleaned so far:

1) There is an issue with the BT IPStream (ADSL MAX) and IPStream Premium (used for the Business 'prioritised' service). It does NOT affect any ADSL2+ C&W LLU customers