Technical Discussion
  >> DSL Hardware Discussion

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Glenn2
(newbie) Wed 20-Jan-21 18:09:26
Print Post

Dropped packets on Zen + Fritzbox BQM

[link to this post]

Hi I'm new to VDSL (and this forum) but not new to BQM graphs as I was previously the owner of a severely over-utilised Virgin line. Been on Zen for a month now and seen these dropped packets occasionally but for the last few days they have been much worse.

Ignore the downtime, that is me changing things around and waiting 30 minutes.
Zen BQM 20/01/21

Is this bad news and what could be causing it?

Things I've tried to no avail:
1) resetting the Fritzbox 7530 to factory settings
2) removing the MK3 faceplate and using the supplied dangly filter from the test socket (although I have no phone and no extensions anyway)
3) putting the Fritz into router-only mode and using an Openreach Huawei HG612 with a short cable at the socket (my cabinet is Huawei)

Is the problem between me and the cabinet or further along?

I've only had the line provisioned for a month (always been on VM since I lived here) and there were a few little bits of red all along but now it's much worse.

Any thoughts/advice?
Cheers,
Glenn
Standard User Glenn2
(newbie) Thu 21-Jan-21 09:40:09
Print Post

Re: Dropped packets on Zen + Fritzbox BQM

[re: Glenn2] [link to this post]

Hmmm... OK it's the router part of the Fritzbox 7530. I stuck an old router on and it went away. What I don't understand is why it's so bad for the last week only, and why a factory reset of the Fritzbox didn't clear it either.
Standard User Saltank
(committed) Thu 21-Jan-21 11:19:09
Print Post

Probably not normal, I would guess it has something to do with the line (statistics might help others diagnose though I don't delve into them).