General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User stickstirrer
(newbie) Wed 23-Sep-20 18:03:06
Print Post

New Broaband Provider- linked routers

[link to this post]

Hi, I am not very good at the tech stuff so sought you out. I have just changed to Sky as provider and set up their router succesfully. I have wi-fi signal from their router and internet access.. I have a switch with 3 further routers connected to give better wi-fi coverage in the house and in a stable 25m away which is a holiday let. All routers are connected to the Sky one by cat5 cable via the switch . With my original provider the routers were given the same SSID and password as the SSE provided router and I could log in wherever I went in the house. Since switching to Sky the connected routers are 'working' ie I receive a wi fi signal but cannot connect to the internet through them and therefore the Sky Router. Do I have to change something in the cat 5 conneted routers to get Internet successfully again? Change settings in the routers? If so which?
Tahnks for any help
Stickstirrer
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Wed 23-Sep-20 18:40:51
Print Post

Re: New Broaband Provider- linked routers

[re: stickstirrer] [link to this post]

Using routers for the purpose of creating a wireless access signal is fraught with configuration problems.

What 3 routers are in use, and how are they configured?

Most likely issue is the IP subnet the Sky router is using is different to the last ISP router and you may need to update the IP configuration of all 3 routers.

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User RobertoS
(elder) Wed 23-Sep-20 19:32:08
Print Post

[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]

Or perhaps the LAN address and range in the Sky router?