General Discussion
  >> Jobs and Training

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User Sneaky_Beaky
(newbie) Wed 03-Mar-21 14:14:33
Print Post

My Openreach Engineer Application and Interview Experience

[link to this post]

My Openreach Engineer Application and Interview Experience – For Telecoms and Civils

Just want to share my experience to help give others an idea of the process they might go through.

• Openreach Trainee Engineer application process
o I applied in May 2018
o I was then on the waiting list for 2.5 years. Your experience does not matter at this stage. I’m a computer technician of 5+ years with a diploma in electronics, I thought I’d get a call based on this as it’s a great fit but it really just depends if there are any jobs going. I later found out my area does not have jobs very often, this will completely depend on where you live.

o I was invited to an assessment centre on January 8th 2021 due to the big recruitment drive.
o My assessment was done by video due to Covid, which I passed.
o I was called March 3rd 2021 with a job offer to start April 19th. So you can see while I waited 2.5 years for my assessment, after that the ball rolled relatively quickly.

• Openreach Civil Engineer application process
o I applied in September 2020
o I was only on the waiting list for a couple of months before my assessment.

o I was invited to an assessment centre on January 7th 2021 due to the big recruitment drive. (Yes, I literally ended up doing both assessments back-to-back after waiting so long, what are the chances).
o My assessment was done by video due to Covid, which I passed.
o I have not yet been called with a job offer. So while I got my assessment very quickly with the civils unlike the telecoms-side, a job offer has not been as quick.

• Interviews and assessment