General Discussion
  >> Mobile Broadband (3G, 4G, 5G etc)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Andoids
(learned) Fri 27-Sep-19 09:37:32
Print Post

HELP please, 4G broadband using unlimited 4G data (Smarty)??

[link to this post]

PLEASE could someone advise me..... I am very new to this.
After years of getting substandard (3mbps) broadband in my rural location in Aberdeenshire I am looking to get 4G broadband.... I can get 4G outside the house, (I might need an external antenna to get 4G inside the house).... but even the 3G inside the house (9mbps) is faster than my existing landline broadband.

My initial search has found a 4G router on Ebay for £31 and unlimited 4G sim from Smarty for £18.75/month, is it this simple?..... Can I just insert the sim card into the 4G router and connect the roter to my ethernet LAN.... and the whole house can use 4G broadband?????

PLease advise.....But I am on a budget..... so I cant afford a commercial 4G router.

1) 3G / 4G Router (https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/4G-LTE-Wireless-Router-300Mbps-Home-Mobile-WiFi-Hotspot-with-SIM-Card-Slot-New/193124137761)
2) Smarty £18.75 p/m = Unlimited UK calls & texts + Unlimited 4G & 3G Data (https://smarty.co.uk/plans/unlimited)
Standard User clyde123
(member) Fri 27-Sep-19 09:57:57
Print Post

Re: HELP please, 4G broadband using unlimited 4G data (Smart

[re: Andoids] [link to this post]

I bought this 4G router off ebay a few weeks ago. It works fine. It will depend on the reception you get for whatever supplier you choose to go with. I've tested a few.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/4G-LTE-CPE-WiFi-Wireless-...
One thing to note - the power supply comes with a US style plug, so make sure you have, or you get, an adapter to UK style plug.
The unit has one built in ethernet socket which works. I've connected an old ATA adapter to run Voip over it.