General Discussion
  >> Mobile Broadband (3G, 4G, 5G etc)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User JCWTom
(newbie) Thu 10-Oct-19 15:58:23
Print Post

4G External Antenna is Slower - Help?

[link to this post]

Hi All. This is my first time posting, but any ideas would be appreciated.

Due to a terribly slow BT Line, around 4 months ago I opted for 3's 4G tariff.

I upgraded the initial B311 router to the more powerful B525.

My house is a bit of a flat spot with 4G and I can rarely seem to catch it, despite being in the zone based on their website.

My router has always been sitting on my top floor window seal, on the correct side of the house.

I have always opted changing the router settings to '3G Only', as this gave me a better and stronger signal. For example;

4G - Download speeds would be 6mbps and I would have 1/5 bars of 4G signal.

3G - Download speeds would reach 20mbps and I would have 5/5 bars of 4G Signal.

This lead me to enquiring about the Poynting XPOL-0001 External Antenna.

Before spending the cash, I thought I'd cheekily put the router in the attic as I have a power source up there. Instantly, I was hitting 3/5 bars of 4G. I then changed the router settings to 4G only.

I conducted a speed test and to my surprise, it peaked at 35mbps, but would average around 25mbps.

I've since installed the Poynting XPOL-0001 in the attic with the router, among other places in the house. The attic is definitely giving the best results but they have decreased the download speed significantly, but increased the upload speed.

I now have FULL 5/5 bars on 4G, which is why I'm confused as to why my results are worse.

The router is around 4 metres away from the antenna, as it only has a 5m cable provided.

The router settings are now on 4G only and the antenna settings are on external.