General Discussion
  >> Mobile Broadband (3G, 4G, 5G etc)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User kanerobins
(newbie) Tue 22-Sep-20 16:05:40
Print Post

Smarty consistently inconsistent, help?

[link to this post]

Hi, sorry but I am not really technical at all when it comes to specific broadband technology etc but I am having major problems with SMARTY.

I use a Smarty sim in a Huawei B310s router and it is rarely working perfectly. Sometimes I might get a good hour or so where everything is loading nicely, no problems...but more often than not it gets extremely slow and inconsistent even doing the most basic online browsing.

In theory I should get good Three/Smarty signal as I checked my coverage but it just doesn't happen. The router is absolutely fine as a VOXI sim works amazingly in it. I've also tried tethering the Smarty sim from a mobile device and the same connection issues persist. Here are some of the things I've tried so far...

* Use a VPN (noticed very minimal difference)
* Changed APN settings (nothing)
* Changed DNS server (nothing)

It's extremely frustrating and when I brought this up with Smarty's customer service their advice was to look for a different provider if I'm not happy with the service. I know VOXI do unlimited data for £35 per month but I would really like to try and make Smarty work as it's such excellent value (on paper at least) for £20 per month

Any suggestions would be massively welcome
Standard User richi
(member) Thu 24-Sep-20 13:04:37
Print Post

Re: Smarty consistently inconsistent, help?

[re: kanerobins] [link to this post]

I have no first-hand experience, but reading others' similar tales of woe, I think Smarty traffic is de-prioritised on the Three network. It's also possible they use packet shaping that discourages people using permanent router installs (e.g., if long session, then slow throughput to a crawl).