General Discussion
  >> Mobile Broadband (3G, 4G, 5G etc)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User Pheasant
(member) Tue 24-Nov-20 10:44:45
Print Post

Vodafone 5G download and upload speed asymmetry

[link to this post]

Collective wisdom sought here. I’ve been using a GigaCube in central London for around 15 months. Download speed has always been quite healthy, typically in the order of 250 to 450 Mbps. Yet upload speed is typically not much better than 10% of upload.

I’ve also tested with a new iPhone 12 and have had similar results. Anecdotally other folks are seeing similar with Gigacube on 5G.

I have been used to virtually symmetric upload and download speeds on most 4G networks in all the years I’ve used that as a “broadband” connection and also on my phone.

So is this asymmetrical speed an “architectural feature” of the the present 5G networks in the UK - presumably to preserve uplink bandwidth on the bases - will upload ever be more symmetric like it is on 4G? Thanks
Standard User andynormancx
(committed) Wed 25-Nov-20 11:05:29
Print Post

Re: Vodafone 5G download and upload speed asymmetry

[re: Pheasant] [link to this post]

As I understand it, the 5G that is being rolled out at the moment uses 5G for the download and 4G/LTE for the upload. Which is why upload is a lot slower.
Standard User andynormancx
(committed) Wed 25-Nov-20 11:07:09
Print Post

I've rarely seen symmetrical upload/download speeds on LTE either. Most masts I've ever been connected to top out at 40Mbps upload even when the download is a lot faster.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User jchamier
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Wed 25-Nov-20 16:08:54
Print Post

In reply to a post by Pheasant:
I have been used to virtually symmetric upload and download speeds on most 4G networks in all the years I’ve used that as a “broadband” connection and also on my phone.