Technical Discussion
  >> Home Networking, Internet Connection Sharing, etc.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User iaintait98
(newbie) Sun 30-Jun-19 16:20:10
Print Post

Trouble with Internet - Keeps Dropping (Sky)

[link to this post]

Hi there, I'm a novice when it comes to broadband connections but I'm looking to try and improve my current connection.

I've recently become a Sky Fibre Max Customer and ever since the installation, the service has become worse and worse, with common high latency and dropped packets. Making streaming videos/playing online games unbearable.

BQM: https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/...

Router Stats:
https://i.imgur.com/axOftHq.png

If anyone is able to detect the fault going on with my connection and what action I should take, that would be greatly appreciated. smile
Standard User Zarjaz
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Sun 30-Jun-19 17:33:59
Print Post

Re: Trouble with Internet - Keeps Dropping (Sky)

[re: iaintait98] [link to this post]

The most common cause of such issues is an incorrect set up within your property.

Can you describe whatís connected, to where, and by how ?

Not whatís connecting to the router, more the phone line, extensions, filters and the like.

Standard User iaintait98
(newbie) Sun 30-Jun-19 17:57:11
Print Post

[re: Zarjaz] [link to this post]

Hi Zarjaz,

Currently I have a single socket master socket located in the kitchen, from there Iíve got a phone line extension cable which goes into the wall and leads to the hallway, I replaced the micro filter that was previously there (before I upgraded to Fibre) with the one provided with the router. And from the microfilter, I have the phone line connected to my home phone and have an ASDL cable connected to the router provided from sky.