Technical Discussion
  >> Home Networking, Internet Connection Sharing, etc.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User john7
(member) Tue 04-Aug-20 16:04:23
Print Post

RJ11 cable colour codes

[link to this post]

I have a BT master socket on one side of what was an outside wall with the modem on the other side. The hole through the wall isn’t very big so getting a RJ-11 Plug through is difficult. It looked to be no problem, I cut a plug off one end of a lead managed to use a wire mouse and got it through. Then, s**t the colour of the cables is different to the BT instructions on direct wiring. I have Yellow, Green, Red and Black wired on to the other plug as I have seen on other internet sites. But I can’t fine how they equate to the BT cable colours so would be grateful if someone could let me know how they match up.
Standard User Michael_Chare
(fountain of knowledge) Tue 04-Aug-20 19:33:29
Print Post

Re: RJ11 cable colour codes

[re: john7] [link to this post]

For an RJ11 to RJ11 cable, the plugs on both ends of the cable should be the same. Can you not see the wire colours in the plug that you cut off?

Michael Chare
Standard User john7
(member) Tue 04-Aug-20 21:04:21
Print Post

[re: Michael_Chare] [link to this post]

Sorry I didn't make my self clearer enough, I want to wire it up direct to the master socket not put a plug back on. The instructions at https://www.openreach.co.uk/orpg/home/helpandsupport... show very different colours to those used on the cable I have. It’s which of these I have are used in place of the colours given by BT to directly wire up there master socket not rewire a plug.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User Nick_W789
(learned) Tue 04-Aug-20 21:30:41
Print Post