User comments on ISPs
  >> Sky Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User risk_reversal
(experienced) Tue 01-Dec-20 00:26:01
Print Post

Replacing ER110

[link to this post]

Wonder if someone can please shed some light on this as I have no experience with Sky broadband.

My daughter is sharing a flat. They have a Sky ER110. I have logged into the unit and it would appears that they have ADSL2+ (not fibre) as the router is synched at 13,000 / 800.

This unit seems very poor and I wanted to replace it with a third party router.

I understand that the TP Link W9970 will work from having read some comments.

1. Could someone confirm that the W9970 works with Sky.

2. I would also need to configure the W9970 which would require the ADSL username and password. Can one call Sky to get these details? Have tried googling this and can't find any answer apart from some talk of DHCP option 61. Which I don't understand.

Sorry to ask such basic questions but have always bought and configured my own router and have no experience whatsoever with the likes of Sky, Virgin, etc

Many thanks for any info provided
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Tue 01-Dec-20 09:48:17
Print Post

Re: Replacing ER110

[re: risk_reversal] [link to this post]

Unit is poor - in what way?

The TP Link W9970 is just 802.11n in terms of wireless so positively archaic in terms of wireless connectivity, but has a solid DSL chipset

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User gary333
(experienced) Tue 01-Dec-20 10:52:47
Print Post

[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by MrSaffron:
Unit is poor - in what way?

The TP Link W9970 is just 802.11n in terms of wireless so positively archaic in terms of wireless connectivity, but has a solid DSL chipset