Hi Guys, it's been awhile since i've posted here. Recently I moved to Virgin Media as my I moved home and unfortunately my options were limited. (Although I just missed in looking at Toob a Full Fibre ISP operating in my general area of the UK eg Farnborough Hampshire.
Anyway I've had package issues with VM , so when I've had odd figures appear on my bill with also credits included, I've not been as drawn to what was going on as I should have. So last night all my services were cut off as apparently I had gone over my credit limit. I had not got a clue as to what was going on bar the system saying I was late paying although I have a direct debit set up and I have since been told to ignore what the system says.
So I had to pay over £40 to get my VM active again, thats Internet and TV, plus there was another charge of over £80 that I thought was due to package upgrades as there was a discount applied later to it and those charges are shown on my June statement.
It turns out I've been charged £6.99 several times for (18) content, but I've never hit a payment button for such services. There are quite a few instances of this happening posted on the VM forums. What I have done is been channel hopping in the adult TV section and found that there are some channels that indicate that they are free to watch until 05:30am. You can only find this out by entering your Pin. So on the other channels that charge £6.99 it appears that they have charged me just because I have entered my Pin and landed on their home page where they advertise their channel and pricing etc. At that point I know it's clearly not free and I use the Back key and select another non adult channel I want to watch. So it seems VM charge you just for viewing the channels home page which shows it's pricing. I have never selected anything on that type of page and always exited out of it and certainly never proceeded with a purchase.
Surely there must be something wrong with the coding as it's a far cry from using say Amazon and buying a film where Amazon ask you to confirm that the transaction is wanted. VM seems to charge you for just looking at the price.
I've been offered £20 as a good will payment, but that is just ridiculous after the amount I've paid. Anyone at VM could look at the logs and know I never proceeded to the channel content and I was probably on that channel for less than 10 seconds. For those wondering why I have accrued quite high charges which equates to many views of these payment "Pages/Portals", It's because to find out what channels are free to 05:30 in the morning, you have to try by using your pin on different adult channels to see what ones are currently free which seems to be randomiised. But if you end up being presented with a landing page showing a price on one of those adult channels you'll be charged just for the priviledge of being there and viewing their price..
I've never come across anything quite as bad as this and as I mentioned there are a few threads I've found that are mainly on the VM forums of customers having this same issue.
I'm quite happy to go down the route of the Ombusman if I dont get that money back. Plus if it wasn't for the fact that they disabled my services I might of not learnt for awhile what was going on.
Hopefully this post might help others until Virgin Media code their TV system correctly.. I believe my TV unit is the 360.



Print Thread
Vorlon