General Discussion
  >> Which ISP?

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User planetf1
(experienced) Thu 10-Dec-20 10:01:31
Print Post

FTTC - which backhaul/provider

[link to this post]

I've just moved and do not have access to Virgin Media (I used to have 1 Gbps), and 4G is a little flakey (varies quite a lot 15-70, but typically around 35, but some glitches despite moving around house -- very different to temp accom where I got a consistent > 120 Mbps

So I'm looking to FTTC as the only viable option.

I work in IT and at home a lot (even before covid) so do value decent stability. And I'm fairly fussy

My exchange (Hove - SDHV) has LLU from sky, talktalk, vodafone & zen

Before I get into providers, would anyone care to comment on the relative likelihood of these providers to keep up with demand and avoid backhaul induced latency -- as a very general point. Or has it got to the point it's much of a muchness these days.

Due to size I might expect BT to be quickest on the case, and zen the slowest (smallest), but then zen's value prop is slightly more premium? the others - no idea!

Then I can get into thinking about ISPs. No point having a fast car if there's roadworks smile
Standard User planetf1
(experienced) Thu 10-Dec-20 10:03:36
Print Post

Re: FTTC - which backhaul/provider

[re: planetf1] [link to this post]

Additionally, do they differ in terms of stabilization approach. It's been a fair few years since I've used FTTC and I remember once being stuck on adapted line via BT that I swear was underperforming, but no way to reset.

Do the other LLU operators (and/or ISPs) have a more flexible approach?
Standard User ukhardy07
(knowledge is power) Thu 10-Dec-20 10:34:23
Print Post

Zen / Vodafone have reported throughput issues I see reported here once in a while but generally ok. All ISPs have a relatively similar approach, speeds don’t really decrease on all mass market providers at peak times.