General Discussion
  >> Broadband Quality Monitor

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User Gamma577
(newbie) Fri 13-Nov-20 17:06:15
Print Post

bqm for dynamic ip host

[link to this post]

Hello there!

I am a newbie here. I have a question in mind and this is my first post.

I have a dynu ddns host redirected to my router's ip address. I setup a bqm, but it shows a thick red block (100% packet loss). I am have a virgin media superhub 3 in modem mode. My router is bt home hub 5a with openwrt. My virgin supplied host name looks like pc#####[email protected]@@@51-6-0-cust##.#-#.cable.virginm.net)

I have no idea about icmp protocol(s). All that I know is it does not need any port number.

With this meagre knowledge, I decided to go a little deeper. So I create two more bqms. One for virgin supplied ip address (raw-ip) and another for virgin supplied host name (vm-host). Here are all the three the graphs :

1. ddns : ddns

2. raw-ip : raw-ip

3. VM-Host : VirginMedia-Host

I have been disabling and enabling the wan ping on my bt hh5a every now and then. These changes are reflected in raw-ip and VM-Host bqms. I also verified by pinging the relevent host/ip address. However the ddns bqm still shows a 100 % packet loss.

My question is : Is my ddns service not sending dns request to the bqm server? Or is someone else, say Virgin Media, replying to the pings on my behalf?

I appreciate your thoughts over this scenario. This will help me to understand the things. Since bqm is a free service, I want to limit the usage to the minimum. So, just ddns bqm should suffice. But until it gets working, I need to attend the bqm setup manually. Getting the ddns host bqm working is the reason for this post. smile

Thank you for your time and attention.

-Gamma
Standard User jchamier
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Fri 13-Nov-20 17:42:11
Print Post

Re: bqm for dynamic ip host

[re: Gamma577] [link to this post]