User comments on ISPs
  >> BT Broadband


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.


These posts have been archived and can no longer be replied to or modified.
  Print Thread
Standard User deleted
(deleted) Mon 04-Oct-10 20:04:52
Print Post

Suspicious e mail from BT


[link to this post]
 
If you can't read this email properly, please click here

How�s your broadband performance?
Hello Mr Baylis

Ofcom, the UK communications regulator, has partnered with SamKnows to research broadband performance in the UK.

They�re looking for customers of various broadband services, including BT, and we thought you might like to take part.

The research involves connecting your BT Home Hub to a device that monitors the performance of your broadband connection (not your home network or web traffic).

If you volunteer and take part in this project, you�ll get access to your own data so you can track the performance of your broadband connection.

If you�d like to join in or find out more, please go to http://www.samknows.com/broadband/signup/ofcom

Best wishes,

BT Total Broadband team

Please don't reply to this email � it's been automatically generated by our computer.
If you need to get in touch, please use the contact links below.

To make sure emails from BT go into your inbox and not the junk folder, add
[email protected] to your address book.

BT own all '@btcomms.com' addresses, but they're operated by planning-inc (an approved BT supplier).

We sent this email to your email address because you subscribe to a BT service.

Log in | Contact us | Privacy policy

British Telecommunications plc.
Registered office: 81 Newgate Street, London EC1A 7AJ
Registered in England No. 1800000.



Just this minute received this e mail from "BT" but they have got my name wrong, any one else received one ? I obviously have not clicked on any of the links and would suggest you don't, any thoughts, am I right to be suspicious?
Standard User XRaySpeX
(knowledge is power) Mon 04-Oct-10 20:26:23
Print Post

Re: Suspicious e mail from BT


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
Not received one. Am BT Phone cust.

SamKnows is a well-known reliable site & all addys are pukka.

1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up => 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB => 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB => 2008: Orange 8 Meg LLU BB => 2010: Orange 16 Meg LLU BB
Standard User deleted
(deleted) Mon 04-Oct-10 20:37:34
Print Post

Re: Suspicious e mail from BT


[re: XRaySpeX] [link to this post]
 
SamKnows is a well-known reliable site & all addys are pukka.


Yes I agree SamKnows is well known and reliable, that's the only reason I posted it really. I am just wondering how a survey company working on behalf of BT can get my name completely wrong on an e mail !
Might try manually typing link into browser see where it takes me.


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User deleted
(deleted) Mon 04-Oct-10 20:53:28
Print Post

Re: Suspicious e mail from BT


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
Manually typed in it seems to be kosher, certainly goes to SamKnows site and an invite to be a broadband performance monitoring guinea pig.
Can't be too careful I suppose smile
Standard User deleted
(deleted) Mon 04-Oct-10 21:35:32
Print Post

Re: Suspicious e mail from BT


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
I've been testing for 4 months,no problem.
Standard User deleted
(deleted) Mon 04-Oct-10 21:55:22
Print Post

Re: Suspicious e mail from BT


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
In reply to a post by greyposter:
I've been testing for 4 months,no problem.

I have no doubts it is fine but it is a bit disconcerting to receive the invite to join, on a genuine e mail but with the wrong name. I have contacted BT to ask how this can happen, will be funny if they reply calling me Mr Baylis smile
Standard User deleted
(deleted) Mon 04-Oct-10 22:02:42
Print Post

Re: Suspicious e mail from BT


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
See your point.
  Print Thread

Jump to