General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User mlmclaren
(knowledge is power) Thu 10-Sep-20 11:52:01
Print Post

FTTP - I expected better

[link to this post]

So I had an FTTP line installed by Kelly Comms around 25th August and since been feeling a bit meh about the service.

The service I'm subscribed to is 160/30 via IDnet and terminating using a Tenda AC8 wireless router.

My issue that I can show is My Broadband Ping

Was expecting a very stable connection but seems to be very jittery.

My setup is very low usage, connected to the router is 1x Desktop PC, a Smartphone, an iPad and an Amazon Fire Stick all of which are either not connected or are turned off at most times of the day and night.

Matt - Just a JitteryPinger

10 years in Technical Customer Service, Construction Trades and Administration - Now I'm a Chef, whats next?
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Thu 10-Sep-20 12:29:54
Print Post

Re: FTTP - I expected better

[re: mlmclaren] [link to this post]

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/...

Another IDNet connection, its VDSL2 but shows what is possible with IDNet

Does pinging sites reflect the same level of jitter? If not it might be a result of the router not prioritising ICMP responses.

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User StuB
(committed) Thu 10-Sep-20 12:30:45
Print Post

I thought I had some oddities and actually started a similar thread the other day with my connection https://forums.thinkbroadband.com/fibre/f/4657634-ex... but compared to yours they're nothing.

My issues were that sometimes while browsing websites occasionally they'd not respond for a short while or need a refresh.