General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.


  Print Thread
Standard User trolleybus
(experienced) Mon 08-Jul-19 09:47:28
Print Post

Service Level Agreement with Microsoft


[link to this post]
 
As far as i am aware, I have never knowingly provide my email address and yet I have received an email from "them" as per the text shown below. I have extreme doubts that it is genuine. Within the mailing is an hyperlink to https://mmed.microsoft.com

Thoughts on this anyone?

--------------------------------

Hello,

You are receiving this email because we are updating the Microsoft Services Agreement, which applies to one or more Microsoft products or services you use. We�re making these updates to clarify our terms and ensure that they remain transparent for you, as well as to cover new Microsoft products, services and features.

The Microsoft Services Agreement is an agreement between you and Microsoft (or one of its affiliates) that governs your use of Microsoft consumer online products and services.

You can read the entire Microsoft Services Agreement here. You can also learn more about these updates on our FAQs page here, including a summary of the most notable changes. The updates to the Microsoft Services Agreement will take effect on 30 August 2019. If you continue to use our products and services on or after 30 August 2019, you are agreeing to the updated Microsoft Services Agreement.

If you do not agree, you can choose to discontinue using the products and services by closing your Microsoft accounts before these terms become effective. If you are a parent or guardian, you are responsible for your child�s or teenager�s use of Microsoft products and services, including purchases.

Thank you for using Microsoft products and services.
Standard User ian72
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Mon 08-Jul-19 10:11:24
Print Post

Re: Service Level Agreement with Microsoft


[re: trolleybus] [link to this post]
 
I think it is a legitimate email from Microsoft. Is it possible you have briefly signed up for some service - ie to be able to open a file someone has sent you? I have had a few copies of it due to having both personal and work accounts.
Standard User clyde123
(member) Mon 08-Jul-19 10:21:42
Print Post

Re: Service Level Agreement with Microsoft


[re: trolleybus] [link to this post]
 
Yes, quite sure it's a legit email from Microsoft.
I've received a few to email addresses that I used to register copies of Microsoft Office, downloads and updates.


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User deleted
(deleted) Mon 08-Jul-19 11:42:10
Print Post

Re: Service Level Agreement with Microsoft


[re: trolleybus] [link to this post]
 
Yup, quite genuine.

You probably popped your email address in somewhere years ago and completely forgot about it, especially if you used a program or service that wasn't originally owned by Microsoft but now is, such as Skype.
Standard User trolleybus
(experienced) Mon 08-Jul-19 11:50:17
Print Post

Re: Service Level Agreement with Microsoft


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
In reply to a post by flilot:
Yup, quite genuine.

You probably popped your email address in somewhere years ago and completely forgot about it, especially if you used a program or service that wasn't originally owned by Microsoft but now is, such as Skype.


I guess that would be Autoroute then. Very sad it was killed off by them.
Standard User deleted
(deleted) Mon 08-Jul-19 16:59:49
Print Post

Re: Service Level Agreement with Microsoft


[re: trolleybus] [link to this post]
 
Believe its genuine, everyone even with just a Microsoft Hotmail account will have received it.
  Print Thread

Jump to