Technical Discussion
  >> Security Related Issues


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.


Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | [3] | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User tommy45
(knowledge is power) Thu 06-Feb-14 13:06:08
Print Post

Re: I have just received this e-mail, possible SCAM???


[re: caffn8me] [link to this post]
 
The count for me is 2 so far both contained a .scr file which was zipped to avoid detection
Standard User blfamily
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Sat 22-Feb-14 21:00:49
Print Post

Re: I have just received this e-mail, possible SCAM???


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
secureserver.net is also letting these throught. a bit worrying as millions use Go Daddy and they have pretty darn good spam filters.

Steve
Plusnet Fibre!
Standard User dandnsmith
(experienced) Thu 27-Feb-14 16:32:24
Print Post

Re: I have just received this e-mail, possible SCAM???


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
I've had 3 of these, so far.
I have a scheme of allocating email addresses which allows me to identify the likely place from which the addresses were obtained - in each case they were not using the address which I gave to HMRC, but were using addresses harvested from careless forums (not this one).
Even the zipped html content looks like a genuine HMRC document, but I get suspicious when I see odd rebate amounts and a request for bank details.

Derek


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User tommy45
(knowledge is power) Tue 01-Apr-14 18:03:12
Print Post

Re: I have just received this e-mail, possible SCAM???


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
Looks like another bombardment of the same spam and viruses for me,

Here is a list of companies the spammers are using

HSBC UK, Sage.co.uk ,Marjorie stern ,(txt in french) Gateway [email protected]

Natwest. (New Voicemail Message) companies house , sage accounting , land registry (auto notification ) royal mail, facebook, grp Lloydslink Tech reference, Sky.com
Some company must have an insecure server or they are selling peoples e-mail details to these scammers, nearly every e-mail has had an attachment .EXE or .SCR or a HTTP link to a web address that is clean, but is spoofed or has redirects to other IP's the attachments are all the same virus,

FAX348893.zip - Win32/TrojanDownloader.Waski.A trojan - deleted
FAX348893.zip > ZIP > FAX752095.scr - Win32/TrojanDownloader.Waski.A trojan - was a part of the deleted object

http://www.eset.com

Edited by tommy45 (Tue 01-Apr-14 18:08:00)

Standard User deleted
(deleted) Wed 02-Apr-14 09:05:03
Print Post

Re: I have just received this e-mail, possible SCAM???


[re: tommy45] [link to this post]
 
Thank you for your further info.!!!
Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | [3] | (show all)   Print Thread

Jump to