User comments on ISPs
  >> Sky Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User RiCkItY_ReD
(newbie) Mon 28-Sep-20 22:29:53
Print Post

Sky Broadband Buddy privacy issues

[link to this post]

Hello!

Two points to this post: the first more of an exclamation of surprised horror, the second a request for info.

1) I am a young professional living in a shared house; a common part of modern life. I have just learned that Sky Broadband Boost comes with a parental control feature that sounds great for a traditional family household, but horrific for a shared household. Whoever it is in my house that pays the internet bill effectively gets access to everyone elses browsing histories. We have no way of stopping this or knowing whether or not it is happening. I am astonished that this is not considered a serious privacy issue. My house "mates" having access to my data is just as bad, if not worse, then my neighbour or someone else in my city. All Sky (or other service providers) would need is to create a 'shared household' account that explicitly excluded invasive parental controls.

2) How good of a defence against the above is a VPN? I'd have thought that would solve it, but something I read on a website made it sound like Broadband Buddy could shut down VPNs. Crikey! How much do people here know about Broadband buddy?
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Mon 28-Sep-20 23:36:06
Print Post

Re: Sky Broadband Buddy privacy issues

[re: RiCkItY_ReD] [link to this post]

Parental controls are something with all the major ISPs that the account holder can play with.

The question is more around how much trust you have of the person with the login.

A VPN will hide what you are doing, but it is possible using the controls to block VPN access but not a great idea in a shared household.