General Discussion
  >> ISP Unhappiness

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User mikejp
(committed) Sun 05-Jan-20 16:42:55
Print Post

Plusnet 'bog standard' router - wifi

[link to this post]

Quite a few folk experiencing very poor (or no!) performance with wifi from these. My son has recently gone over the PN from BT and now has had to re-instate his BT router to get any connection.

Problem well-known to PN but has been ongoing for 9 months or so with no resolution. Latest 'advice' is to switch off the 5GHz . Son did this and found the wifi connection with LOS fading at 10- 15ft - hence the return to the BT box.
Standard User hk11
(fountain of knowledge) Sun 05-Jan-20 18:02:02
Print Post

Re: Plusnet 'bog standard' router - wifi

[re: mikejp] [link to this post]

What router is this?

I've been using a Technicolor TG582N for several years with little problem. In fact I swapped back to using it from a more up to date model on my latest ISP.

Keef- Sheerness Kent UK - Shell Energy BB via Technicolor TG582N

Previously - NowTV, Plusnet, Sky, EE, New Call Telecom/Fuelbroadband, Virgin/NTL/Bell Cable, Crosswinds, IC24, FreeOnlineNet, X-Stream, Totalise, Freeserve, Force9, TescoNet, AOL, Freenetname, Pipex, E7
===========

Edited by hk11 (Sun 05-Jan-20 18:02:52)

Standard User alexatkin
(member) Sun 05-Jan-20 18:11:13
Print Post

AFAIK Plusnet are still using the re-branded Home Hub 5, which is essentially junk IMO.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User MCM
(knowledge is power) Sun 05-Jan-20 18:51:39
Print Post

If you don't like or find your ISP supplied router doesn't meet your requirements there is nothing to stop you doing what may others do and that is either purchase a router that meets your requirements or move to an ISP who supply an acceptable router.
Standard User mikejp
(committed) Sun 05-Jan-20 21:14:58