User comments on ISPs
  >> BT Broadband


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.


These posts have been archived and can no longer be replied to or modified.
  Print Thread
Standard User deleted
(deleted) Thu 30-Sep-10 23:20:31
Print Post

phorm


[link to this post]
 
Hi all, i have Bt option 3 and have noticed that we are getting targeted adds, ie we looked at cookers then when we were browsing the web adds for the cooker we were looking at was on the add, this has been doing this for a while now, i thought i read that it was a opt in scheme and i have not opted in. Just renewed my contract with Bt but if they are doing this do i have reason to cancel and go some where else?

Bye,

Ian...
Standard User MHC
(legend) Fri 01-Oct-10 08:19:34
Print Post

Re: phorm


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
More like;y that it is Google ...





~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


M H C


taurus excreta cerebrum vincit
Standard User zyborg47
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Fri 01-Oct-10 11:10:31
Print Post

Re: phorm


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
phorm is almost dead, it certainly not operating in this country.

As been said, no doubt it is google or some other advertising company. Best thing is to block thrid party cookies in your browser, clear the cache and cookies.

Adrian

Desktop machine now powered by windows 7 pro 64bit , laptop by ubuntu

On ADSL24 using C&W network.


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User XRaySpeX
(knowledge is power) Fri 01-Oct-10 14:00:55
Print Post

Re: phorm


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
All it is is Cooker Cookies wink

1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up => 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB => 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB => 2008: Orange 8 Meg LLU BB => 2010: Orange 16 Meg LLU BB
Standard User deleted
(deleted) Fri 01-Oct-10 20:21:54
Print Post

Re: phorm


[re: MHC] [link to this post]
 
Almost definitely Google. Recently been checking out new taps for the kitchen now every b****y page has kitchen taps advertised on it :0{
Standard User deleted
(deleted) Sat 02-Oct-10 20:41:22
Print Post

Re: phorm


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
Install Firefox, and AdBlock Plus.

Adverts are then a thing of the past. smile
Standard User deleted
(deleted) Sun 03-Oct-10 16:14:01
Print Post

Re: phorm


[re: zyborg47] [link to this post]
 
I wouldn't be so sure... last few days I noticed BT has been capturing certain domain lookup failures (but not all which is weird) - also had a few dns failures recently* with odd and rather weird results. So it looks like BT has something going on in the backend.

Often I get a variant of this site: http://www.webaddresshelp.bt.com/main?

* 1 in 3 times when I make a new (PPP) connection after the router crashes or I lose sync or whatever I can't resolve IPs at all or almost all sites resolve to generic ad/search sites which would suggest either BT has a poisoned or badly configured DNS server(s) or something weird going on. I've checked from my phone when its happening so its not some malware that just happens to be on all my PCs.

Edited by deleted (Sun 03-Oct-10 16:16:10)

Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Sun 03-Oct-10 17:20:05
Print Post

Re: phorm


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
Presenting a page on DNS failure is relatively common across browsers, and many toolbars do the job for people too e.g. Bing, Yahoo, Google

Andrew Ferguson, [email protected]
www.thinkbroadband.com - formerly known as ADSLguide.org.uk
The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User deleted
(deleted) Sun 03-Oct-10 18:41:56
Print Post

Re: phorm


[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]
 
Until recently its always been MS's flavor of the month - currently bing. But last few days I've noticed BT capturing some lookup failures - but not others which go back to bing as normal - which is a bit odd.


EDIT: Looks like it some Yahoo! Search Marketing thing BT have started using recently - I've opted out - nothing like phorm.

Edited by deleted (Sun 03-Oct-10 18:48:33)

Standard User deleted
(deleted) Mon 04-Oct-10 12:18:14
Print Post

Re: phorm


[re: deleted] [link to this post]
 
You're right, I 'm sure I saw something about this lately, and I'm sure it's an opt in-opt out service.

Edit, here's the information, including how to opt out if you wish.

http://bt.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14244...

Edited by deleted (Mon 04-Oct-10 12:20:53)

  Print Thread

Jump to